Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations http://www.downeastthunder.com Engineer, Designer, Fabricator, and Maker Tue, 07 Mar 2017 13:46:51 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.8 http://www.downeastthunder.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/cropped-dtc-fav-32x32.png Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations http://www.downeastthunder.com 32 32 Youtube Introduction to Downeast Thunder Creations http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/03/youtube-introduction-downeast-thunder-creations/ Tue, 07 Mar 2017 13:46:51 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1325 Introducing Downeast Thunder Creations to the YouTube Community. This is a short trailer video posted  on my YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUUQWtP4dpKFwXTYQ57ex3g . It’s an introduction about Downeast Thunder Creations; what is offered in terms of how-to videos, plans & drawings, and future plans. It was a long time coming. I should have posted this video in Continue reading

The post Youtube Introduction to Downeast Thunder Creations appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Re-Purposing a 30+ Year Old Headboard http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/02/re-purposing-a-30-year-old-headboard/ Sun, 12 Feb 2017 16:03:37 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1302 My desk is no longer used for typical office work, but is now a craft bench. The problem is no storage space to put tools, paints, materials, and other supplies. This results in a total mess when multiple projects are in various stages. I planned on building something to remedy the situation. I mentioned this Continue reading

The post Re-Purposing a 30+ Year Old Headboard appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Typical Winter at Downeast Thunder Farm in Maine http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/typical-winter-at-downeast-thunder-farm-in-maine/ Sat, 28 Jan 2017 20:40:49 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1298 So far this (2016/2017) winter season, the weather has not been typical, with very little snow. This slideshow video reveals what we’ve typically experienced over the past 13 years we’ve lived here in Downeast Maine, along the “Bold Coast.” No creative projects or how-to’s this time around. Just a few photos to share because I Continue reading

The post Typical Winter at Downeast Thunder Farm in Maine appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Wrought Iron Pot Rack http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/wrought-iron-pot-rack/ Tue, 24 Jan 2017 18:25:01 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1294 My wife Susan wanted a pot rack, and found a design she liked on line. She saved the pictures and told me to get to work! The design she chose, and ultimately what I made for her was inspired by “Artisans of the Anvil.” It’s kind of “artsy-fartsy,” don’t ya think? This project went along Continue reading

The post Wrought Iron Pot Rack appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Building a Chicken Coop http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/building-a-chicken-coop/ Tue, 24 Jan 2017 01:15:20 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1288 Several years ago, we decided to add a flock of laying hens to our farm & homestead here in Downeast Maine. The chickens needed a home, so I designed the chicken coop you see here. It has a footprint of 4 feet by 8 feet, so a standard sized sheet of plywood makes up the Continue reading

The post Building a Chicken Coop appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Work Shop Fixture Plans http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/work-shop-fixture-plans/ Wed, 18 Jan 2017 20:24:21 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1260 The slideshow video reveals a few of my work shop fixture/furniture designs in simple 2D drawings. The reason I posted a video in this format is because I am testing some software that converts my pdf files to jpg format, and I want to evaluate how it works out. I haven’t purchased the software yet Continue reading

The post Work Shop Fixture Plans appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Mobile Stand-Up Desk http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/mobile-stand-up-desk/ Wed, 18 Jan 2017 02:33:46 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1257 The design for this mobile stand-up desk was inspired by Paul Akers of Fastcap and the mobile stand-up desk he created for his own use; now offered to the public as “Paul’s Desk” on the Fastcap web site. Unlike Paul’s Desk, the one I created is primarily constructed with 3/4″ cabinet grade plywood. Paul Akers Continue reading

The post Mobile Stand-Up Desk appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
High Wind & Heavy Snow Load Greenhouse http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/high-wind-heavy-snow-load-greenhouse/ Thu, 12 Jan 2017 18:59:03 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1254 AKA: “Susan’s Greenhouse.” We live in Downeast Maine: That’s along the seacoast; way up near the Canadian border. Strong “Nor’easters” and heavy snowfall during the winter (most of the year) necessitate a heavy-duty design for any sort of greenhouse. Standard designs work to various degrees, but seem to ultimately fail when we get our most Continue reading

The post High Wind & Heavy Snow Load Greenhouse appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Wood Lathe Bench http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/wood-lathe-bench/ Tue, 10 Jan 2017 22:22:00 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1248 I own an old Reliant DD-70 Midi Wood Lathe and purchased it new, back in 1993. It hadn’t been used in many years and just sat in storage, collecting dust. With a renewed interest in wood turning, I dug it out, cleaned it up, but had no place to put it where I could operate Continue reading

The post Wood Lathe Bench appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>
Clamp-On Hitch Receiver For Tractor Loader Bucket http://www.downeastthunder.com/2017/01/clamp-on-hitch-receiver-for-tractor-loader-bucket/ Tue, 10 Jan 2017 19:00:10 +0000 http://www.downeastthunder.com/?p=1245 This attachment is a tool I designed for my New Holland compact tractor loader bucket. This 2″ hitch receiver easily clamps onto the bucket within a minute, and without any tools required. It comes off just as easily and as fast. I designed and fabricated this attachment based upon the material I already had on Continue reading

The post Clamp-On Hitch Receiver For Tractor Loader Bucket appeared first on Paul Bennett's Downeast Thunder Creations.

]]>